Do What You Want

For a really long time, my daily prayer has started something like this:

God, what do you want me to do?
Should I go this way or that way?
Make this decision or another?
Choose this door or the other one?
Turn left or turn right?

When I got a little older in my prayer life, I started giving God more than two options. Rather than asking for a map, I said:

God, just show me the way.
Help me to know and do your will.

I got a little further along the road and prayer morphed again:

God, give me your eyes to see.
Give me your ears to hear.
Give me your heart to love.
Let me want what you want.

Still underlying all these words was my constant question: What do you want me to do?

Bolt with Nut CropThen there was Mike. We have shared many a conversation about prayer. He confided that he asks God the same kinds of questions. And then one day, he heard a new answer:

Do what you want and I will bless it.

When he told me his story, I thought that was so cool! What a great answer, God! I wished I would hear that some day.

Not long after that breakfast with Mike, my usual prayer started:

What do you want me to do, God?
I don’t know which way to go.
Show me your will for me.

 

God: Do what you want and I will bless it.

Radio silence from me at that point.
Seriously? God, are you serious?
Yes, you are. Oh my.
What next?

A year later at breakfast with Mike again, I tell him my story. And I ask: Do you think we got the Do-what-you-want answer because we’ve done all the other things that God wanted. That it’s like a reward for being a good disciple?

Mike: No. I think it’s just that we were finally quiet enough to hear what God had been trying to tell us all along.

Do what you want and I will bless it.

So cool, I’m trying to decide what comes next.

what are you thinking about?

